He’s Allergic to Peanut Butter

Image

This was us on the day we got Bubba tested for peanuts.

And this is us now:

 

Image

We got his results today. He is highly allergic to peanuts. They want us to not keep any peanut butter in the house and we are also supposed to avoid tree nuts (walnuts, almonds, etc.) just to make sure there is no cross contamination. We have a list of ingredients we have to look for when buying things. This is going to be so annoying! We have to take him in once a year to test his levels and cross our fingers that some day he grows out of it. For me the biggest fear is going to be forgetting the epi pen everywhere I go. They did give me a recommendation on sun nut butter as a peanut butter replacement and I’d love to hear any other ideas people have on food alternatives. 

If you are ever babysitting for us please remind me to show you how to locate and use the epi pen (it’s very easy, nothing to fear). And if you are ever cooking for him, I’ll need to make sure none of those hidden peanut ingredients are in there. I’ll send a list to friends and family who feed us from time to time so you’ll have it on hand 🙂

The bright spot in this is that they suggested that this might be the reason for why his skin is so bad. Maybe once we remove all exposure his eczema and hives and rashes will clear up. We could use that right about now!

5 Responses to “He’s Allergic to Peanut Butter”


  1. 1 chuck December 29, 2011 at 9:12 am

    1. I love you guys so much.
    2. you look gorgeous in this picture, which I suspect Veej took all by herself.
    3. Sawyer’s school has been recommending and using Sun Nut Butter due to the high number of nut-allergic kids there! I hear it’s delicious!
    4. I have no doubt that you will always have the epi-pen at the ready and with you wherever you go.
    5. How awesome would that be if his skin clears up from this! Hooray!
    6. Don’t forget how much I love you guys.

  2. 2 linda@thepartnergroup.com December 29, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Ditto! Nana and Grandpa feel the same. We loved spending
    time with you at Christmas. So cool to take Joel and Veronica to the fancy dinner and play! We of course already
    miss you. Stay healthy everyone. Your Grandpa has a bad cold.

    Of course the grandkids are sooooo cute
    Love,
    Nana and Grandpa

  3. 3 Erin December 29, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Ugh, so sorry to hear this. We had the allergy testing with Henry too and thought it was peanuts, but lucky for us, it wasn’t. I feel for you, big time – no peanut butter in the house?! Good luck with everything!

  4. 4 Tom December 29, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    I don’t think I ever had peanut butter when I was growing up.

    Bananas were the rage back then and I think bananas will be a good substitute. I know they would be for me.

  5. 5 Anonymous December 30, 2011 at 11:05 am

    Peanuts are overrated.
    – Stacy.


Leave a Reply

