One Sad Little Girl

Chris reminded me this morning that one year ago today we were going through this:

and now here we are one year later and I can’t even believe that really happened. She has no recollection of being in the hospital (and apparently I’m losing my memory of it too!)

Last night was night #1 without the binkies. First we went to the toy store. She got to trade her binkies in for toys. I wanted to get her a tricycle but when we got to that section she refused the bikes and insisted on getting a skateboard.

We don’t own enough bandaids for the skateboard to happen just yet. So we compromised on a helmet.

For her other toys she chose some dolls. One of them is a terrible doll that talks and dances and will be lucky to make it a week in this house without being smashed to bits. Accidentally of course.

The fun of picking out toys died as soon as she got tucked into bed without a binky. She cried and screamed for two hours and finally passed out from sheer exhaustion.

This morning she told me she doesn’t want to be grown up anymore. She just wants her binkies.

3 Responses to “One Sad Little Girl”


  1. 1 mom November 2, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    I do remember going up to the hospital to see Veronica and I am praising the Lord how it all turned out. Having a heart situation recently myself I kinda have an inkling of what she went through.

    Binkys are a tough habit to break but stick in there mom and dad. I also like her new dolly. Veronica of course is the light of my life. (just like her mom) Chris is a great guy too. Stay warm and God bless!

  2. 2 babs November 4, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    The second half of this post had me doubled over laughing. Skateboard! awesome, she must have seen some pictures of Chris with skater hair.

    Not wanting to be a grown up…. awesome. Me neither.

  3. 3 Mary T November 7, 2010 at 6:16 am

    Great pics. The skateboard kid makes me laugh out loud. The two dolly faces delightful.


Leave a Reply

