Big Girl Bed Success

We brought the big girl bed up this weekend. I figured we could just throw the mattress on the floor for the time being and let her get used to having it in her room. We’d have it there for a few weeks, then we could set up the bed and she could move into it when she was ready.

Well she was ready the day we moved the mattress in.

She got very excited to see it, and really who wouldn’t be excited to have a trampoline moved into their bedroom? That’s what she used it as for most of the day. At nighttime I put her in her crib as usual and then she attempted to climb out, as usual. Fortunately she can’t really climb fully out yet, but she gets herself stuck. So I asked her if she wanted to try sleeping in her big girl bed and got a resounding YES!

Mommy & daddy weren’t exactly ready for this to be happening tonight, but it was going to happen. And it went PERFECTLY. I’m sure the newness has already worn off but last night she stayed in bed the entire time, never once getting out.

At least that we know of.

6 Responses to “Big Girl Bed Success”


  1. 1 christin March 15, 2010 at 7:35 am

    oh my goodness. she is NOT that big yet! She is not having a big girl bed…no no no. I cannot BELIEVE IT!!! She looks so grown up.

    It also threw me off when you said in the post below that she “said” blah blah blah – I’m like “said??? she’s TALKING? in full sentences????” I mean, this I need to hear. it’s been too long officially.

    her hair is like a Pantene commercial.

  2. 2 mom March 15, 2010 at 8:24 am

    Hi,
    Nana is home! As you know I have been gone for a month after having hip replacement surgery and therapy to walk.Is it ever good to be home! I just caught up with Veronica’s blog and I missed reading it. Grandpa did tell me that he loved having mom and daughter at our house. The pictures are great and I enjoyed viewing “the big girls room”

    Love you,
    Nana

  3. 3 Mishy March 15, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    that bed looks so comfy, of course she’s gonna want to sleep in it! in fact, i’d enjoy a nap in it right now.

  4. 4 chuck March 16, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Its awesome when this works out! When Sawyer wast 2, I had the same plan…move the big boy bed in while keeping the crib up for a few days, get him used to it, then gradually make the switch. He was having none of that, loved the bed immediately and wanted to sleep in it that very instant! Hooray for big kids!!!

  5. 5 stacy March 19, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    so how is it going after a few days????

  6. 6 mraaker March 19, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    She doesn’t quite get the idea of ‘blankets’ or ‘pillow’ yet.


Leave a Reply

