Fluke

I got my self-help books from the library, took notes and set a plan. Last night was going to be night #1 for sleep training. I set myself up to be strong-willed against her cries and not rush into her room every time her binky fell out of her mouth. I decided that a good night’s sleep is better for her than getting a hug from mommy every ten minutes (she disagrees). 

And so when night-time fell I did the opposite of what I would usually do. Instead of trying to keep her up longer to make her sleepier, I followed the book’s plan, and started putting her to bed BEFORE she even said she was tired. It was crazy and I wondered if I was setting myself up for three hours of protest in the crib.

She took her bath, chewed on some books, ate a bottle, and then I put her in her crib awake. You know what she did?

SHE ROLLED OVER AND WENT TO SLEEP.

And slept. And slept.

THE WHOLE NIGHT.

Every once in a while she woke up and cried out for a second but then went right back to sleep. I didn’t go in her room once. Except at 4am when I went in and gave her a bottle and then put her right back in bed. And then she slept again until 6:45. That’s the latest she has ever slept. The longest night of uninterrupted sleep. And she woke up happy!

(I’m considering it a fluke and planning on starting night #1 of sleep training all over again tonight.)

7 Responses to “Fluke”


  1. 2 Lisa September 17, 2008 at 8:54 am

    It is crazy but true – the earlier to bed – better the sleep. Good sleep breeds good sleep. Before you know it – she’ll be going down for naps every 3 hours like clock work!!

  2. 3 mraaker September 17, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Not on the nights that I’m on!

  3. 5 Emily September 18, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Yeah Mommy and V! I can’t believe she hasn’t ever slept past 6:45, no wonder she is so serious all the time.

  4. 6 CaptainNeeda September 18, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Her usual is 5 A.M.! 6:45 was a treat.

  5. 7 mom September 18, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Great!, Great!, Great! I love success! Wish mom and dad all the best.

    Love,
    mom


Leave a Reply

