My First Mother’s Day

This Sunday will be my first Mother’s Day. I have a feeling my present will be wrapped in a diaper.

I’ve heard of baby’s eyes changing color after they are born, but what about their hair? Sometimes I see brown, sometimes I see dark blond, and sometimes I see a tinge of red. And in pictures like this I see all three.

And as you may have noticed, the blog got botoxed yesterday. I’m still playing around with the widgets and gadgets so there may be even more changes today. I think it looks good but if I keep pretending to work on it I have an excuse to look at my sweet baby’s pictures all day.

8 Responses to “My First Mother’s Day”


  1. 1 ckuretich May 9, 2008 at 8:44 am

    OH MY GOSH!!!! It is so so so darling. who did the header, you or Chris??? I love it!!!! that birdie is the coolest bird ever.

    V is just so gorgeous. I have no idea what her hair color will be, but I agree, she’s got a little of everything right now.

  2. 2 Mad May 9, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Beautiful post, even more beautiful picture! And color me impressed with the new blog look! Happy Mother’s Day. 🙂

  3. 3 chuck May 9, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Happy First Mother’s Day!!! the diaper-wrapped present will be the first of many homemade mom’s day gifts made for you with pride.

    um, you all need to frame that picture.

  4. 4 kljderrick May 9, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Happy first Mother’s day – I hope you enjoy getting a full nights sleep – compliments of gma and gpa!!

    Blessings –
    Lisa

  5. 5 CaptainNeeda May 9, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Ckuretich-thank you! I did the header myself. I love your new blog look too.

    Mad-you are the original mama blogger to me.

    Chuck-you’re right, we really do need to get a-framin.

    kljderrick-I can’t wait! A whole night’s sleep. I even requested to be put on the “quiet floor” where there is no noise allowed in the halls from 9pm to 9am.

  6. 6 looperlatte May 9, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    I love the picture. I need to make a copy and frame it for us! You are so talented! V is so beautiful; just like her Mother. Happy First Mother’s Day! XO

  7. 7 Tom May 9, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    I love the phrase “a diaper-wrapped present.” It reminds me of Chris and Matt.

    Parents are given a living gift. Once we receive it we, and our lives, are changed forever.

    “Diaper wrapped,” midnight hours of crying and walking ’til the crying stops, breast or bottle? sleep or worry? vaccinations, swimming lessons, grandmas, Dr. Spock or ???, listening to great music and reading (before you think they will understand…but they do), planning the trajectory from childhood to adulthood…and wonderful challenges and payoffs when you realize they’ve taken your measure as a parent and decided the path they will follow.

    What a future for you and VJ. Happy Mother’s Day Rebekah (and Chris).

  8. 8 beckyrs May 9, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Yeah! Happy first Mother’s Day!! I don’t know who is cuter, you or VJ!!!!


Leave a Reply

