R is for Rainbow

What with Pinterest telling me I’m no good unless I can spin gold from burlap and a mason jar and my mommy friends scaring me about how early I need to be signing Veronica up for preschool, I figured it was time to start doing some more active projects with the kids.

Yesterday we covered rainbows. Yeah, I dug deep for that one.

We started with a craft that involved cutting and gluing–two of my weaker points. The finished project:

Image

Nobody is going to accuse me of doing my son’s work:Image

Then we moved on to the cooking part of our challenge. We took vanilla pudding and (look away if you don’t like poisoning your children with food coloring) turned it into a rainbow dessert:

Image

Our beautiful creation:

Image

During the taste test, Veronica was not impressed.

Image

William, on the other hand, thought it was the best thing he’d ever eaten. 

Image

We took the leftover stuff and used it for edible fingerpaints for the Bubs.

Image

Veronica LOVED lunch, even if I did have to point out to her that this was mommy’s attempt at a rainbow.Image

Then there was also this failed craft, which was actually pretty cool and I’d like to try again sometime:

Image

All in all I’d say it was a successful day. Veronica now knows that indigo is a color of the rainbow, even if she has no clue what that means. Eh, I’ll take it.

P.S. if you’re looking for fun things to do with kids, check out http://tinkerlab.com/ She has amazing ideas!

5 Responses to “R is for Rainbow”


  1. 1 Rachelle | TinkerLab January 10, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    What a fun, colorful day! Kudos to you for bringing rainbows to life for your little ones, and thanks for the nice endorsement ;)

  2. 2 Jessie January 10, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    I love you.

  3. 3 stacker95 January 11, 2012 at 8:06 am

    You are too much. Love it. You bring shame on us all.
    Pinterest is the devil.

  4. 5 Mishy January 11, 2012 at 10:12 am

    orange is the color of madness.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

